More News & Notices

Republican Proportionality Rules Changes for 2016, Part Two February 17th, 2016

Earlier this week FHQ began an examination of Republican proportionality rules changes for the 2016 presidential election cycle. On the most basic level, the Republican National Committee 1) cut the proportionality window in half for 2016 as compared to 2012 and 2) narrowed its 2012 definition of what constitutes a proportional delegate selection event for the 2016 cycle. Theoretically, the former would cut down on the number of proportional states while the latter would increase that number.1

Having established that as a baseline understanding of the differences between the 2012 and 2016 rules, the focus can now turn to the implications of those changes. In other words, now that the RNC has changed the mandate on proportionality, how will the states and state parties adapt their 2012 delegate selection plans in order to remain compliant? Four years ago, after the RNC first introduced the proportionality requirement, most states took the path of least resistance. Assuming state Republican parties had a baseline/traditional method of allocating delegates to the national convention (and of binding those delegates based on the presidential preference expressed in the primaries and caucuses) in 2008, then in response, the majority of states made the smallest changes possible to remain rules-compliant in 2012.

Read more here

Don't have an account?
Create your free account

Exec Cmte Meeting
Tuesday, April 4th, 2017, 7 pm
Date/ Time/ Location Tentative

O'Meara Ford
2nd Floor Community Room
400 W 104th Ave

Monthly Club Meetings

Reagan Club
1st Thursdays
Amazing Grace Community Church
541 E 99th Place, Thornton

North Suburban Rep Forum
2nd Saturdays
Amazing Grace Community Church
541 E 99th Place, Thornton

AdCo GOP Women Trumpeteers
4th Saturdays
Amazing Grace Community Church
541 E 99th Place, Thornton

Adams County Events

Copyright (C) 2015-2017 Adams County Republican Committee
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee